Aspire to Inspire!

TGIF! Wait…for those of you who don’t know what this means let me help you: Thank God It’s FRIDAY! That’s exactly how I’m feeling today. It’s been somewhat of a long week and I’m glad I made it. Well, I hope all of you made it as well so I’m glad WE made it!

I recently attended Open Mic night at The Inspired Word and had my third NYC performance. Not bad for a Midwest girl who no one really knows 🙂 This was a very inspiring night for me. There were so many talented artists, poets and comedians that risked their egos 😉 and took to the stage. They were all very talented. I must say it’s very frightening to get up in front of a room full of people in hopes you don’t hear the ultimate ….. <—– *Silence* or BOOOO!

I took the stage and people who were standing around talking about their to-do list and taking advantage of the happy hour special turned and planted their eyes on ME. From the moment I started speaking, they were listening! I performed a piece I’d written about 4 years ago and the response I received was amazing. I felt like I was at Madison Square Garden in front of a sold out show (LOL a girl can dream right?!) The energy was amazing!

As an Emcee, writer, and all that other jazz, I’m constantly questioning whether or not my music is inspiring. It’s just something creative minds do. I’ve been making music since I was 13 and it wasn’t until I was 25 that I decided I didn’t care what the “norm” was. I vowed I would make music and write pieces that people could smile to, laugh to, cry to, understand and relate to. To have people say to me that was inspiring, or you rocked, or I needed to hear that, that’s more than any amount of fame could ever offer!

What inspires you? Ask yourself that simple yet difficult question. How do you inspire others? You may be an inspiration to someone and not even know it! If you stay true to what inspires you and motivates you, 9 out of 10 times your passion and hunger for that will reflect light onto others! Who the heck cares what the Jones’ are doing or what’s deemed “cool” by society! It’s all about doing what YOU love!

Leave a Reply

